They said the tricks would all still be possible...

Mator

It was stated many times in interviews, at PAX, and elsewhere by 343i employees that all tricks in Halo: CE Anniversary would still be possible. The reasoning was that "they didn't change anything save putting a new graphics layer over the game".

I've been doing tricks in Halo: Combat Evolved since 2006, and haven't actually played anniversary yet but from what I've heard from other trickers it seems that all tricks are not possible in Halo: CEA. In fact, it seems the mechanics of every trick have been changed, some fatally.

The first casualty I will present to you is getting outside of levels:

According to Devin Olsen, an old Halo: Combat Evolved tricker, getting outside of one of the lifepod bays on "The Pillar of Autumn" resulted in the entire level, all HUD elements, and everything else on the screen being derendered. For those of you who aren't familiar with technical terms, this means that everything on the screen disappeared. While this doesn't make the trick entirely 'impossible' per say, it does make it entirely pointless. The entire reason people get outside of levels is so they can explore and see the level from a different perspective. You'll still be able to do this on open levels, like "Halo", but on other levels like "Keyes", "The Maw", and "The Pillar of Autumn" this will no longer be plausible, as you will not be able to see anything once outside of the level. This kills off a couple dozen tricks.

8M9N.png

The second casualty I will present to you is ledging:

In Halo: Combat Evolved a large though not as renowned section of tricking was known as ledging. This involved getting on top of ceilings or inside of walls on levels and moving about on the edges of solid objects. (E.g. a light in a ceiling would be solid. See my video