Can a Developer Please Explain the rationale behind this ?

avon

Why do i get put into a game that is already underway? I am constantly thrust into a match that is usually 20-30% over with and thrown onto a losing team. I have a masters degree in software engineering so I know a fair amount about game development and this is an absolutely horrible game decision from an end user perspective. Why are you punishing users for other people quitting? I get thrown onto a losing team, where I am usually outnumbered, the opposing team has all vehicles & power weapons already and are usually already in control of all the critical points on the map. So basically everytime I want to play Halo I have to enter a game where the odds are completely stacked against me because someone else quit? Was this really the best system you could come up with? Why not penalize quitters instead? I am very curious to hear what the rationale is for this. I could see if the game was 3 years old an it sped up the matchmaking process, but currently there should be no shortage of games to be played, so why am I being punished for other users quitting?

I would love to hear the Pros...

Less time having to find players to start a match

Experience points for completing a match that you only partially participated in

Going into a game with balanced teams

Less time waiting for everyone to vote on a map, load said map, and establish a connection to start the match.

Not saying I like "join in", but those would be some obvious pros.

• Like 2