Boltshot / PV Balancing Discussion

SatanicBagels

In the past I have defended the Boltshot as fair and well balanced. This will not change in this thread. I view the gameplay mechanics of the gun to be powerful but not devastatingly so. However in all my justifications of the Boltshot being a properly balanced gun I consider the armor ability Promethean Vision as a wrecking ball for Boltshot users.

Recently upon picking up the Boltshot for usage (I started playing Team Regicide) I discovered that in the hands of a skilled user that Promethean Vision won't always be an adequate counter for the Boltshot.

See truth is when I'm using this pistol and I see the flare on my radar signaling the PV user nearby I immediately begin to anticipate the rush of my position by the opposing player resulting in an easy close range kill for me. Why shouldn't my opponent do that? It would work in most situations no?

I don't see any changes to the Boltshot needing to be made... but I think that it would be useful if there was some way for Promethean Vision to point out people with the Boltshot when activated. This would make Promethean Vision an adequate counter for the Boltshot again. It would also allow the wetwork armor mod to be popularized as that would be an appropriate counter to Promethean Vision for Boltshot users.

Thoughts?

• Like 1

i think this is the wrong way to go, simply because PV having so much focus on "hey theres a boltshot" doesnt make sence IMO. i think they should simply cause the boltshot to require fully charging until it auto releases, in stead of allowing for release within that half second or so window of "prongs" fully spread. being able to release after only half the charge period, or any time from then to auto release, is what makes the wep OP. if its burst only releases upon the auto release, however, it becomes perfectly balanced