Helpful Ideas From a REAL Halo Veteran

OG Chipper

I've been playing Halo since I got CE for Xbox when I was 13 years old, so Halo holds a special place in my heart as it does with many old-time fans.

It seems a little sad really to see my community sort of dry up the way it has. No one I used to play Halo with will even touch another Halo game.

The general consensus among Halo haters is this: 343 had YEARS to make a great game and spent A BILLION $$$ on another "NEW AND AMAZING" game experience like no other, but it's like ya'll gave up half way into the development and dropped us a heaping pile of you-know-what instead of the EXTREMELY OVER-HYPED instant classic that Infinite was being marketed as...

If you want to save the next Halo title... stop making Halo stories and marketing this "free to play," virtually content-less multiplayer. Instead--and please, hear me out--stop focusing on making campaigns for right now and focus on creating the best multiplayer experience possible, because that is where the MONEY is. Let form follow function. Nail the mechanics first and the rest should follow.

Maybe you disagree, because I'm sure the hype generated plenty of dollars, but what I'm saying is that a long-term investment by a focused team of developers to generate a bigger, broader, more diverse, halo-addicted fan culture is the WAY to go. Not that that isn't what you folks weren't trying to do that to a large extent... you just didn't quite hit the nail on the head. And the reason for that is you're not quite, it seems, seeing and keeping up with the changes in games and gaming culture today.